In the light of General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) we wanted to provide a convenient way for our users to delete their accounts. While compliance only says that a service needs to offer a way for users to request their data deletion, we wanted to go one step further and offer an easy way that doesn’t require manual work from us. Here is our account deletion tool.
Right to be Forgotten
Also known as Data Erasure, the right to be forgotten entitles the data subject to have the data controller erase his/her personal data, cease further dissemination of the data, and potentially have third parties halt processing of the data. — from the key changes of GDPR
We believe in straight forward communication, no frills UX and don’t want to hide things either. That’s why every Colloq user will now find the option to delete their account in their account settings. We could have made it a little harder and control deletion manually on request, but we believe that your requests should be honored in the easiest way possible.
It is also not in our interest to keep users against their will or just for better numbers. If you like Colloq, you will stay; If you don’t, we let you go. If you want to give us feedback, you can always do so but we will never force you to.
Upon deletion we are removing your complete personal data from our database. Some records of contributions to events may not be deleted, but in these cases any reference to your account and personality will be removed.
If you are new to Colloq and found this article elsewhere, feel free to explore the service, join us and find some conferences you’ll like!